Magnificat

Fourth century mosaic of Christ

Fourth century mosaic of Christ

I hope that many people have managed to get hold of a copy of the Magnificat book which contains all the Liturgies and events of the Papal visit. There is so much to read in this book, but I recommend people to dip into it whenever they can. The readings for Sunday’s Mass are in there, as well as for all the days up to, including, and beyond the visit. I sometimes need to look at the readings again, as there is so much happening at Mass, what with singing in the choir, and watching the very lovely, but distracting children in our congregation.

Sometimes, with so many words, I can feel overwhelmed as I look at a book like Magnificat. There doesn’t seem to be enough time to take it all in. But the Holy Spirit has a way, if I listen, of guiding my reading. Here, on page 46, are some words that spoke to my heart.

God loves each one of us very much and has a special vocation for us. He gives us the strength to fulfil our unique mission in life. We merely need to remain humble before him and be responsive to his gifts. In this way we will be given everything that is necessary.

I have heard, over the past few days, of so many people who are working, using their gifts, to make this visit go smoothly. Some of them are probably worrying about the practicalities, about the weather spoiling things, about protesters spoiling things. I pray they will remember that ‘There is nothing I cannot master with the help of the One who gives me strength.’ (Phil 4:13)

This entry was posted in The Visit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

